Smashbox Cream Cheek Trio: Review


* This product was purchased by me.

Smashbox’s Cream Cheek trio has been a pleasure to work with. The texture is smooth without being too thick and sticky. When I look for cream blush that is definitely a breaking point for me. Cream blush that is too sticky=me being a lot less interested.

I’ve been using this product either on it’s own or layered beneath a powder blush. I find that it blends in to foundation beautifully and I love the effect I get when applying it with my #192 foundation brush from MAC. I can literally paint it on to the cheeks (or anywhere else for that matter) and it melts in to the skin leaving behind a very pretty, peachy glow. It’s going to be a bridal kit favourite that’s for sure, especially when layering it. You know how them brides love longevity.

IMG_0287 (Large)

If you want to layer powder and cream blush together, this is how you do it:

  1. Add cream blush on to your cheeks after you’ve applied foundation.
  2. Add powder on top of that to set.
  3. Add your powder blush.

Please don’t put powder blush immediately on top of the cream blush as it may very well “grab” and you could end up looking patchy. So not haute, so please don’t do it.

There are no names for each of he shades so I’ll refer to them as peach, highlight and copper.

Natural Light

Natural Light

With flash

With flash

The peach tone works well on skin tones from very fair through to medium olive skin. It’s a colour that can be worn on both cheeks and lips although I’m really not sure about eyes. I’m guessing that it may contain a red pigment and I know that certain red pigments are not safe for the eye area so rather avoid wearing it as an eye shadow. Try avoid wearing this colour if you’re darker than an NC42 as it will start to look somewhat ashy.

The highlight colour is very pretty although a tad too sparkly for my taste but it goes on really sheer. It would be great for a shoot or evening event but may be a bit strong for day time use. The copper colour would make a good highlight for darker, african skin tones. even on olive skin, the copper colour can be worn as a blush.

Natural Light

Natural Light

With flash

With flash

You’re probably wondering why I have different sets of images. Well, the tops of my hands are quite tanned as opposed to my wrists so I thought it may give more clarity regarding the colour on 2 different skin tones. I do hope it’s helped.

Suaad xoxo

