Wrapped: Portrait of a Woman by The Dollie House


A little while ago I was approached by photographer Rizqah Dollie of The Dollie House to take part in one of her photography projects. At first I was a bit “Um, I’m usually BEHIND the scenes on shoots” but when Rizqah explained what the project was about, well, that piqued my interest and I am VERY honoured to have been a part of such a fantastic project.

20130903_130550

Wrapped:Portrait of a Woman is:

A series of portraits that depict the beauty of the modern and modest woman. In the hope of dispelling the stigmas attached to woman who cover their hair.

It's me checking me out :) Sorry for the blurry camera pic.

It’s me checking me out πŸ™‚ Sorry for the blurry camera pic.

20130903_13062820130903_130458

The exhibition was held at Cape Town’s City Library (what a GREAT venue!) and when I went to view the work, I was approached by a few people to ask if it really was me in some of the images and what it all meant. Truly a great way to open discussion about Muslim woman and just to help educate, in whatever small way, that as Muslim women we are really not oppressed! We’re normal, everyday people. We’ve just chosen to cover ourselves a bit more πŸ™‚

Do check out the blog post by Rizqah. It’s part 1 of a series.

You can also see the post about Sarah Wocknitz and Muneera Davids.

Let me know what you guys think πŸ™‚

Suaad xoxo

