Adult Acne STILL Getting You Down? Get it in check with Dermalogica’s MediBac Clearing System: Part 2


See Part 1 of this post.

*These products were all sample sizes.

Clearing Mattifier

Active Ingredient: Salicylic Acid 2.0%

Other ingredients include a patent-pending Cinnamon Bark blend to eliminate bacteria which reduces blackheads and Vitamin A to help boost skin elasticity.

My experience:

This product weaselled its way into my heart rather quickly and I cannot go without it right now. As it’s a silicone product you can use it as a primer but be warned, if you use it as a primer and apply another silicone based product above it, well, be prepared for a rather “dry” application of BB Cream or foundation, lol. I’m speaking from experience here 😉 The great thing about the mattifier is that you really only need the tiniest amount and it spreads wonderfully. It dries completely clear and doesn’t have a strong smell so it’s great for sensitive noses as well. This may just be my favourite product of the bunch.

Would I buy it again?

Definitely!

Retail Price:

R565 for 40ml

Oil Free Matte spf30

Active Ingredients: Avobenzone 3.00%, Homosalate 8.00%, Octisalate 4.00%, Oxybenzone 5.00%

Other ingredients include Biotin and Yeast Extract to regulate oil production and shine.

My experience:

I really like the texture of this cream. It’s not quote a lotion yet not quite a heavy cream an even on my oily-combination skin it sits well, is easily absorbed and doesn’t leave me looking shiny. My BB cream just glides across my skin and this moisturizer is an excellent base to use beneath foundations, BB and CC creams.

Would I buy it again?

Definitely!

Retail Price:

R565 for 50ml

Concealing Spot Treatment

Active Ingredient: Sulphur (to combat breakout bacteria and clearing excess oil).

Other ingredients include Niacinamide, Yeast and Cinnamon Bark extracts to purify and deter excess oil production.

My experience:

This is a concealer (as the name states). The package says to apply and let it sit for 5 seconds before blending in but I found that by doing that, when I’ve used the mattifier beneath, this product grabs onto the silicone and creates a strange, lizard effect on the skin. Not cool. So before the 5 seconds are up, I blend the product and wa la! No lizard skin. The colour (medium) was a pretty good match for my skin once I used a BB Cream (I apply the BB cream first and then the spot concealer). If I were to use it on my bare skin, the colour would be a tad too dark. Even without the full 5 second “sit’, this product has worked very well and is one of my favourites in the range.

Would I buy it again?

Absolutely. I’ve really enjoyed using it and I’ve seen some great results (especially when used in conjunction with the mattifier).

Retail Price:

R290 for 10ml

Suaad xoxo

2 responses to “Adult Acne STILL Getting You Down? Get it in check with Dermalogica’s MediBac Clearing System: Part 2

    • It’s been a long time since I’ve used Dermalogica so it’s always nice to be reintroduced ♡ Which is your favourite soa to visit? And what treatments do you usually have?

Comments are closed.