Adult Acne Getting You Down? Clear it Up withDermalogica’s MediBac Clearing System: Part 1


As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, I received some Dermalogica samples to try out at home and some of them were from the MediBac Clearing range. This range has been devised for those of us (still) suffering from (adult) acne. Aaaargh! Anyhoo, the products were really awesome (I mean,it’s Dermalogica after all) and I’m still trying to make up my mind which ones in this range I want to get. During my testing of products at the Authentics Skin and Lazer Centre’s skin bar, I was recommended a different set of products but none-the-less, the lovely Lizca gave me some extras to try out (the MediBac range) to see which range I was most comfortable with. Now I’m not too keen on having to review multiple products in one post, but here it goes:

*These products were all sample size testers

Dermalogica Product

Dermalogica Product (Photo credit: miss604)

Skin Clearing Wash

Active Ingredient: Salicylic Acid 0.5%

Other ingredients include Witch hazel extract (a lovely astringent), Balm Mint and Tea Tree to kill of bacteria and reduce breakouts and Menthol and Camphor to cool inflammation.

My experience:

Not a bad wash. I liked that a little bit went a long way and it’s fairly soapy but wasn’t drying. The menthol and camphor cooling was a welcome addition to the wash and I like that my skin felt clean without feeling stripped of moisture.

Would I buy it again?

Yes.

Retail Price:

R405 for 250ml

Sebum Clearing Mask

Active Ingredient: Triclosan 0.2%

Triclosan is a broad spectrum antibacterial which is great for killing off acne. Other ingredients include Kaolin and Bentonite clay, caffeine and salicylic acid.

Recommended Usage:

Thrice weekly

My experience:

It applies really smoothly and has hardly any smell and has the absolute faintest hint of pistachio green colour. Once applied on my skin though, wow. It felt like my face was on fire. You know when Alicia Keys sang “this girl is on fire?” yeah, that’s totally how I felt. Was that a surprise and a half? Being the trooper I am, I stuck it out all the while keeping myself busy to forget about the burning hot sensation on my face that gradually petered off into a cool heat (if that makes sense). Once dry (after 10 minutes) I washed my face to reveal a clean and shiny exterior with the return of that unforgettable cooling sensation. One thing’s for sure, if you have to use it thrice a week, you’ll get used to the burn in no time. Great thing about this mask is because of the great clay content (kaolin and bentonite) you can use it just on your t-zone if you feel the need.

Would I buy it again?

Sure, I don’t see why not. I kind of learned to enjoy the feeling J

Retail Price:

R535 for 75ml

Oil Control Lotion

Active Ingredient: Salicylic Acid 1.0%

Other ingredients include Meadow Sweet to regulate oil production and Enantia Chlorantha Bark Extract for long term decrease in sebum production (without over drying the skin). Camphor and Liquorice Root extract calm inflammation.

My experience:

This was one of the most underwhelming products I’ve ever used. Totally just “meh”. It has a watery texture with no smell and is just a total bore. I did help with shine but I felt my skin looked utterly flat.

Would I buy it again?

Not a chance.

Retail Price:

R495 for 59ml

Suaad xoxo

Part 2 of this post

One response to “Adult Acne Getting You Down? Clear it Up withDermalogica’s MediBac Clearing System: Part 1

  1. Pingback: Adult Acne STILL Getting You Down? Get it in check with Dermalogica’s MediBac Clearing System: Part 2 | suaaddartistry·

Comments are closed.