Weird Scents Tag


Thanks to Marissa Porter over at Wear Your Vitamins for this post idea!

My Cat

Cape Town-20110707-00078I generally like the smell of cats, but there’s just something extra about the smellย  of Tiger. I like to smell her fur and her paws, lol. She reminds me about all the crazy cat lady luuurv I have for her and the rest of cat-kind.

Freshly Cut Grass

This smell reminds me of being a kid. When the grass is being cut that means there’s going to be a pile of it laying around which we can throw at one another. It reminds me of swimming in the summer time and eating ice-cream by the pool. It reminds me of sliding boards, and Nintendo games and playing marbles with my friends. As an adult, it also reminds me of allergies.

My Moms Scarves

My mom always smells like baby powder. Even when she doesn’t wear any. I luv sniffing on her scarves. It reminds me of all the wonderful times and all the scoldings I got as a kid (which was a lot, lol)

My Husband

PicsArt_1368633227108Yeah, I enjoy sniffing Zayd. He laughs and tells me that I’m not a cat, but I enjoy sniffing him. He has a good smell even without any perfume. I just like the smell of him.

Lit Tobacco

Even though I quit smoking a few months ago, I still enjoy the smell of a just-lit ciggie. After that though, gross. Get it away from me.

Freshly Baked Bread

Mmmmmm. Carbs. What an awesome smell. This takes me back to pre-school days when I would sleep over at my granny’s house and her sister would have baked fresh bread and I’d eat it with butter, jam and tea. Yummy. Also, my grandfather was a fan of breads of all kinds and this smell still reminds me of him. bringing home some new bread that he wanted to try out ๐Ÿ™‚

Lipstick

I don’t know why I sniff lipstick. They all smell different. I guess it’s got to do with checking if it’s “off or not.

Acrylic Paint

One of my favourite smells in the whole world. Acrylics take me back to high school Art when my friends and I would sit around, conceptualizing, laughing and talking crap. It reminds me of the fantastic Art Prac exams and sitting learning about Art movements in the dark while watching slides on a projector. It reminds me of the fantastic art outings we would go on and about locking my Gr10 Art teacher in the supply closet for a period, lol. It reminds me about my angsty teenage years where my art was my everything.

Freshly Ironed Laundry

I know it’s clean and that I get to wear it again. Ironed laundry reminds me of growing up in my mothers house and watching cartoons.

Suaad xoxo

6 responses to “Weird Scents Tag

  1. Love this post Suaad, I also love the scent of freshly cut grass! And the smell of the air after it has just rained. My mom’s scarf draw smells like rampies โ™ฅ โ™ฅ โ™ฅ

  2. Awesome post ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have to second what Shafeeqa said about the scarves. Never thought about it before but now that I think of it, my mom and grandma’s scarves just have this distinctive pleasant smell that I love; it’s comforting. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I also have a kitten right now and her fur is so soft and she smells good but I had a cat before that was obsessed with smelling her own poo and she would just chill in the litter box and yes she always smelt bad lol. That’s a smell I can go without.

    • LOL! omw, that cat must’ve smelled pretty hectic. Shame man! Thankfully, Tiger Beast doesn’t have that same issue, although she’s quite fond of sticking her butt in my face, haha. Yeah, my granny also smells so good ๐Ÿ™‚ She smells like my childhood ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. The one I never really thought about before is my mom’s scarves, but now that you mention it I love it too! The scarf drawer has its own special scent of her perfumes and momness. Love this post! xx

    • Thanks Shafeeqa ๐Ÿ™‚ This post brought up a lot of memories for me. It was a great trip down the lane โค Will you be doing one? I'd luv to see what your weird scents are ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.