If You Don’t Try Out Elizabeth Arden’s Ceramide Ultra Lipstick, You May Just Regret ItLater


As a kid, I always thought of Elizabeth Arden as being the brand that belonged to Elizabeth Taylor. I’m not sure why but I think it may have to do with Liz Taylor’s perfume license’s being held by the Arden brand and seeing the ads on TV, I just assumed. I laugh when I think back on it now.

*This product was sent to me for review.

Packaging:IMG_7473 (Medium)

The packaging is beautiful. It’s a NET worth of 3.5g of beautiful. The lipstick is housed in a gold lipstick bullet with rectangles and squares embossed into the metal. It’s reminiscent of doors and windows (Elizabeth Arden’s famous Red Door). Around the band of the bottom part of the lipstick it has the company name on it. This is the type of packaging that elevates the experience of using lipstick. It’s the type of packaging that exudes luxury and it makes you want to use it in public. It makes me feel like I’m a 1950’s starlet who is touching up her lipstick. It’s crazy feminine, dahling. Even the box the lipstick comes in is chic and gorgeous. I don’t even want to throw it away.

Smell:

With an ingredient like Gardenia Tahitensis (which is a flower native to Polynesia) you’d expect something floral and divine but it smells like plain old lipstick. Granted that it’s in the fourth line of a long list of ingredients, I expected something more in terms of smell. My olfactory senses need to be engaged!

What the box says:

This being the box the lipstick came in, obviously.

Brilliant moisturising color, lasting comfort and shine, for plumper, fuller looking lips.

What the website says:

This lustrous, color-saturated lipstick is infused with Volulip™ and delivers brilliant, moisturizing, color-lasting comfort shine, for plumper, fuller-looking lips. Lips look fuller, more defined … and feel youthfully smooth, soft and nourished. Ceramide Triple Complex helps strengthen and re-texturize skin’s appearance, holding in vital skin-plumping moisture. Lips look fuller and younger. Contours seem more defined.

Colour:2013-05-20 14.04.16

The colour I received is called Brick and it’s an honest-to-goodness brick. It’s spot on. It’s neither too red nor too orange and it reminds me a bit of M.A.C’s Chilli lipstick. This is a colour I feel can go either way depending on the acidity of an individual’s skin. On some it may very well be a bit more orange, on others more red and on some even brown.

Texture:

Creamy, delicious goodness! It applies like a dream. The lipstick just glides onto your lips and is pretty pigmented. My lips felt moist and hydrated and it wears well. It’s not as creamy feeling as M.A.C’s amplified range of lipsticks nor is it too glossy and sheer like M.A.C’s lustre range. It meets nicely in the middle and errs on the side of amplified.

My experience:

This lipstick is a goodie. The colour intensity after one swipe is really good and it has exactly the type of pigmentation and colour payoff that I like in lipsticks. The formula is creamy without being too rich and the colour surprised me by being an exact match to the name. I’ve often been disappointed by colour names as they’re not always a true reflection but this time ‘round, brick really is brick. This colour would work well as a winter signature and is right on trend for F/W 2013 (in the Southern Hemisphere). I didn’t, however, see anything notable in terms of lip plumping though. This lipstick has stood up to its claim of being moisturising and it didn’t crumble after long wear.

Haha!

Haha!

Notable Ingredients:

Ceramides (Ceramide 1, Ceramide 3 and Ceramide 6 II), a naturally occurring lipid which are moisture magnets.  Hydrogentaed coconut oil (to condition skin), shea butter (to condition skin, anti-oxidant and healing properties), sucrose cocoate (to balance and maintain moisture levels) and portulaca pilosa extract (skin conditioning agent).

Would I buy it again?

I would, yes. But not the brick colour. Not that there is anything wrong with it, it’s an excellent brick colour, I just prefer cool tones. I am, however, putting it in my kit (and I’m fussy about my kit products).

Retail price:

R185

Purchase at:

Edgars, Edgars Red Square and Foschini stores, nationwide.

IMG_7406 (Medium)

Suaad xoxo

3 responses to “If You Don’t Try Out Elizabeth Arden’s Ceramide Ultra Lipstick, You May Just Regret ItLater

  1. Pingback: The Easiest Way To Get Beautiful Lashes Is With Elizabeth Arden’s Beautiful Color Lash Enhancing Mascara | suaaddartistry·

Comments are closed.