Ponds dazzles at the launch of their BB Cream


I was lucky enough to be invited to Ponds’ Fan and Follower Event for the launch of their latest product, a BB cream. Now BB Creams have been on the market for a while now and our overseas counter parts are already dabbling in CC Creams but South Africa has just started picking up momentum in the BB cream department and so, another BB cream has been launched. The difference being that this is Ponds.

Presentation setup

Presentation setup

I took my mum with me to the event, thinking she would definitely enjoy a morning of scrumptious cakes and tea and Ponds did not disappoint lol. The event was held at the swank Taj Hotel in the CBD with the theme being a touch of pink nogal. The venue was beautifully decorated and my country, cottage chic inner home décor diva was in heaven. The flowers! The crockery! The table décor! Swoon. Had I done the typical Slams thing, I could’ve made off with a flower arrangement but as this is not a typical Malay wedding and I had my maniere on me, the table flowers were safe.( Just kidding, I’m not that aunty, lol) I also ran into fellow bloggers Diva Desle (who was at school with me) and Charlene of Gee Whiskers blog. Charlene and I sat at the same table and she is such a honey. My mom was charmed by her 🙂

My Mom, Diva Desle and Charlene and Myself

My Mom, Diva Desle,Charlene and Myself

A wonderful presentation about the Ponds brand was given with the audience being informed on the relaunch of Ponds YouTube channel which will be dealing with skin 101. But the most interesting was the information given about their latest product to the Flawless Radiance range, the BB cream. The BB cream not only gives you coverage and blurs out any imperfections in your skin, it also works on a much deeper, cellular level making this a treatment product to be used in conjunction with your skin care. As I abhor the feel of foundation on my skin, a BB cream makes much more sense to use every day (for my lifestyle at least). The cream is offered in two shades, Beige and Chocolate.

Ponds BB Cream offers sheer to medium coverage with an spf30, PA++. Ever wondered what on earth that PA++ means on sunscreens and such? Ya, so did I. It’s actually a measurement of protection, so the more + or stars, the higher the protection. It may even state 1, 2 or 3.

Ponds BB cream

Ponds BB cream

The amount of research, time and care that has gone into the development of the BB cream is quite astounding and impressive. Ponds conducted a continental wide study on 1000+ women in Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria and South Africa for the Chocolate shade. By doing so they have created a swatch card and have thus been able to zone in onto data and create a product that is truly adaptable to African skin. The test groups reported no ashiness in their skin which is usually a big deal for darker skin tones. The BB cream was developed in South Africa by South Africans for South Africans and considering that Ponds is a global brand, this is quite a feat. I really got the sense that the Ponds brand really cares about its consumers and they truly want to give women the best product that they can develop.

After the scientific chat about the product, the wonderfully hilarious and crazy talented Michel Ingoglia gave us a demo with the BB cream to create an easy and beautiful everyday look. We took a quick look at S/S 2013 makeup trends (on which there will be a post soon) and Michel kept us in stitches the whole time. With makeup experience for Chloe, Versace and Naomi Campbell, this Jozi gem was a real treat. I love how he spent time with the audience afterwards and he genuinely listened to questions and gave sincere answers. His easy going and friendly nature had us all warm to him in an instant.

Science time kids! It was really thorough and super informative.

Science time kids! It was really thorough and super informative.

Each guest was given 2 slabs of yummy Lindt chocolate, a True Love Magazine and a 25ml BB cream to take home and try out. I have been using mine everyday so check out my review of it here. After a thoroughly enjoyable, relaxing morning and 2 spot prizes, the event drew to a close. I felt thoroughly spoiled by Ponds and had a marvellous time.

Myself, Michel Ingoglia and Charlene of gee Whiskers blog

Myself, Michel Ingoglia and Charlene of Gee Whiskers blog

Beautiful flowers and yummy eats

Beautiful flowers and yummy eats

Charlene and I. how lovely to meet her in person!

Charlene and I. How lovely to meet her in person!

Table settings. All that pink!

Table settings. All that pink!

Michel Ingoglia demoing an easy, ever day look

Michel Ingoglia demoing an easy, ever day look

The completed look.

The completed look.

Lots of laughs.

Lots of laughs.

Smiles abound :)

Smiles abound 🙂

The ladies who were invited via Twitter. Social media rules :)

The ladies who were invited via Twitter. Social media rules 🙂

As many of the attendees that could fit onto the stage for a pic.

As many of the attendees that could fit onto the stage for a pic.

Spot prize winner. What a cool hourglass!

Spot prize winner. What a cool hourglass!

Suaad xoxo

PS: Some pics were taken by me and others were taken off Ponds Facebook page (and are allowed to be shared).

2 responses to “Ponds dazzles at the launch of their BB Cream

    • Hmmm, I’m not sure. I’m not familiar with Nigerian retail stores. Perhaps if you do a search for “Clicks South Africa” you can get an idea of what kind of store it is (it’s mainly health and beauty). I hope this helps!

Comments are closed.