Garnier’s BB Cream


When I first heard about BB Creams I was super excited and could not wait for these little “miracles” to hit our South African shores. The promises of blurring imperfections and evening of the skin tone while being a moisturiser and treatment product sounded too good to be true. Thank you Marketing!

When I found myself in Canal Walk shopping centre and finally saw them on the shelves I knew I just had to buy it. If it didn’t work for me, I’d simply pop it in my kit. It’s what I always do. Ah the joys of makeup artistry! Nothing ever goes to waste πŸ˜‰

A bit of background on my reasoning for wanting a BB Cream. Firstly, I’m a woman! Don’t we just luv buying beauty products? It’s a birth right! Secondly, I hate wearing makeup. “What?” I hear you say. “But you’re a makeup artist, this is preposterous!” is your follow up. This is one of those FAQ’s. Yes people, I don’t enjoy wearing makeup. I worked on counter for a while and had to wear pounds of it daily so my need for wearing makeup everyday is over. Plus, it doesn’t fit in to my lifestyle so let me continue with this review…

I don’t enjoy the feel of foundation on my skin, not since my retail days. No matter the texture or consistency, I’ve been feeling it’s just too much, which is why the BB Cream was such a promising product.

I luv how unnaturally dark you are!

I luv how unnaturally dark you are!

I bought Garnier’s BB Cream in ‘”Light”. The “medium” looked too dark and obvious and “light” blended in to my skin tone perfectly. One of the things I feel Garnier has done right and wrong at the same time is that the shades are darker. That’s great for South Africa as we have many women of colour but what about our much fairer skinned women? To have only 3 colours in the range is a bit too few and even thought I bought the “light” colour, I have a medium complexion, thus “light” should be for women who wear an NC15-25 foundation and medium should be for women who wear NC30-40. In the same breath, the shading system should’ve included the middle of the range colours perhaps extending from a “Light” to a “Light Medium” in which your range of NC15-30 could be accommodated and so forth.

The BB cream claims to boost hydration, luminosity and radiance in the skin. Great! But I have oily skin, so the hydration/radiance boost was too much. I looked positively GREASY. The “healthy glow” was replaced by “oil tanker spill” and I felt I could fry a batch of chips/french fries/samoosas with it. And then the breakouts started… So oily skinned babes, do tread with caution around this product. If you were to set it with a powder though you should be fine. A friend of mine told me that it leaves her skin looking very matte though.

I did feel that the BB Cream blurred out my acne scarring and if I were to add a concealer to it, I would have been more than happy with the results. It provided just the correct amount of coverage and I didn’t feel like I was wearing any makeup and that is a huge deal for me. The coverage, however, did not last long as my oily skinned rebelled and said “stuff you BB Cream!” so that was the end of that.

If you have dryer skin to a more regularly balanced skin, I would suggest this product. Oily skin, not so much. Have you tried this product? How did it work for you? Let me know!

Suaad xoxo

Want more BB Cream reviews? Check out the ones I wrote about Ponds BB Cream and Filorga BB Cream.

5 responses to “Garnier’s BB Cream

  1. Pingback: Beauty Bonanza:My Fave Products | suaaddartistry·

  2. Salaam doll! I was so curious to try this product aswell, as im fed-up with wearing foundation on a daily basis to cover my uneven skin tone and acne scars. So i tried it, and much like ur experience, i became extremely oily which led to a massive breakout. BUT it did wonders in terms of coverage, esp when i added concealer to spots that needed it. Good news however, there IS a formula for combination-oily skin that has already been launched overseas so lets patiently wait until it reaches South African shores very soon πŸ™‚

    • Wasalaam babe πŸ™‚ Oh my gosh, I’m so sorry to hear that! I was actually thinking about you when experienced such a bad time with this product after our chat on Pinterest and remembering that you use Fix fluid foundation. Ya, that’ll be MUCH better if we can get our hands on something designed more for our skin type than this BB Cream was. Inshaa-Allah, we won’t have to wait toooooo long! lol

  3. I’ve been using this product in Medium for over a month now and I cannot live without it! I’ve been through many tinted moisturizers and was so happy when BB creams finally became available in SA. I have combination skin but it doesn’t leave my T-zone shiny and hydrates really well. I love the texture which is silky and not sticky, mild coverage that can be increased by applying another coat. I can go on and on but I’ll stop here!

Comments are closed.