Battlefield Live SA and how military style fun is actually fun


So this post has nothing to do with makeup, beauty, hair or skin care but I had SUCH an awesome time that I felt the burning need to share this experience with you.

Yesterday me familia and I went to Elgin, Grabouw to experience an action packed, tiring and disciplined 2 hours under the “Hell hath no fury”  form that is Sergeant Harold Haywood. This guy is tough but it adds to the awesomeness. As I sit here, I am sore. My legs, arms, core… it all hurts. Upon arrival, you’re given sticks of face paint (can I use this as the makeup part of the post? I say yes) with which to camouflage up, soldier! Awesome.

Seargeant Harold berating us for our lack of volume in saying "Sarge, yes Sarge" Shortly before he made us run...alot.

Seargeant Harold berating us for our lack of volume in saying “Sarge, yes Sarge” shortly before he made us run…a lot.

We then received our vests, camo and black, to split us in to teams. As we were late, we’d managed to upset Sergeant Haywood so we had to hustle! Move it, move it, move it! The military style “encouragement” is no joke but the day would sorely be lacking in character if there was none.

We lined up and were taught about sniper position, rolling right when he shouted “grenade left!” and that if we failed to follow orders we would do 20 pushups. First offense: 20 regular. Second offense: 20 clapping and third offense you do 20 1 armed pushups. Thank goodness I only had to do the 10 for warmups unlike some other troopers, haha!

Some of the lots of running we had to do but it's only because Sergeant cares :)

Some of the lots of running we had to do but it’s only because Sergeant cares 🙂

We were informed about the boundary lines, areas to be wary of as well as the snakes. Good grief, freaken snakes! I have a snake phobia and this bit of info did NOT go down well, I had tears in my eyes when Sarge. spoke about the 2m cobra they had seen. We received our guns and the first “game” started. Really just a free for all to get accustomed to our weapons (left button reload, right button for fancy sound FX) I would luv to have a theme party here! I saw  pic on facebook (or was it their website?) of a Storm Trooper at the venue. (Maybe for my 28th birthday? Star Wars or Skyrim theme? I’m torn.)

Before the games started we were told to assemble in to our teams and face one another. Game face on! Now do the Haka. Wait, what? Being with this specific group, there are at least 5 characters out of the lot, so naturally this warriors dance turned in to a joke and had us all laughing until it hurt. Shukran Junaid.

                                                           Game 1: Capture the flag.

sergeant Haywood breaking it down for us noobs.

Sergeant Haywood breaking it down for us noobs.

Our team was a disaster, lol. No strategy (WHY?!) and an everyone-for-himself type of attitude but despite this, with all the running around, ducking for cover, gazelle leaping over logs (yes, I actually leapt over stuff,lol) and shouting “Cover me!” our teams flag was captured. During this, Zaida and I (on opposing teams) kind of cornered one another and each one tried to shoot the other more times than they could be shot. Hilarious! Zaida’s primal instincts emerge in such games and it’s so fun to be around, lol.

After Capture the flag we had a 5 minute water break, which everyone desperately needed as all that war tires you out.

Zaida hiding in the bushes taking out the enemy. Hardcore!

Zaida hiding in the bushes taking out the enemy. Hardcore!

Who would’ve thought? Naturally, during our meet up with Sergeant and Corporals, some of us stepped out of line and guess what? More running! More pushups! More jack knifes! Hooray! Womp womp woooomp.

Game 2: VIP Protection

4 body guards, 1 VIP and a whole lot of assassins + cheating (on the VIP and body guards side, ha). This turned in to a mob frenzy with all the angry rebels out to get the president! (Perhaps she was Vader with 4 Storm Troopers and we were the Rebel Forces? I don’t know).

Instead of instilling fear in to the enemy, Junaid's Haka had us all in stitches!

Instead of instilling fear in to the enemy, Junaid’s Haka had us all in stitches!

Game 3: Sniper

I got to be a sniper. Man, you won’t believe how happy I was! Plus I got to don a real life gillie suit and pretend I was Cousin It. How cool is that?!

Snipers were divided from the rest of the prey troops and we were given our mission. Take them all out! I could probably write an entire post about how much I enjoyed this game. When

Gillie Suit Up!

Gillie Suit Up!

playing first person shooter games, I hardly ever opt for the sniper rifle but after yesterday, well,that’s a different story. Us 4 snipers picked off the enemy and watched them drop like flies. One did manage to escape as I experienced a problem with my gun but I managed to get him in the end 😉

What a fantastic day. We laughed, we crawled in the dirt, we cheated, we were had it in for one another and we bonded as families. Yes, the theme of war for fun may not seem productive but how many

My husband Zayd as a sniper. Team Dawood!

My husband Zayd as a sniper. Team Dawood!

of us haven’t played paintball or gone to lazer quest? The outdoor laser experience is one I shall remember for a lifetime and I cannot WAIT to get out there again, perhaps for a night game (but what about the snakes?!) or the 6 hour teambuilding. This truly is fun for the whole family (check their facebook page with the pics of 8 years olds playing). Be warned, you need a moderate to high level of fitness to play this game!

Any of you guys been here or experienced something similar? Let me know!

Me. In the bushes. Waiting for you.

Me. In the bushes. Waiting for you.

The look of defeat and victory. Ah yeah :)

The look of defeat and victory. Ah yeah 🙂

