Johnson’s Oil Balancing Gel Wash


“The Oil Balancing Gel wash gently lifts away impurities whilst caring for combination skin with skin loving minerals known to revitalise and zinc known for its oil balancing properties”.

The clear gel wash is contained within a 150ml squeezing tube which allows for easy dispense. The tube is opaque to translucent pink and clear with a pretty feather design on the front. I find the lid a bit flimsy and I’ve read online that people have found that water seeps in to very quickly if you keep it in the shower. I keep mine on a shelf above the sink in the bathroom so I havn’t had any issues like that.

The gel texture is lovely and is slightly more liquid than my usual face wash and it was a nice departure there from.This means that you need to use less product and probably should aim for slightly more than a pea sized amount. I’ll admit, I used a bit too much! Lol. The gel wash contains Sodium Lauryl Sulphate which is the soap/foaming ingredient within. If you read the ingredients contained within any soaping product, you will find SLS. To see the presence of it made me a bit nervous to use as I’ve always found soapy face washes to be very drying on my skin and a bit too astringent but I was pleasantly surprised with this one. Although I did experience a very mild tight feeling but that’s probably because of my heavy handed use 😉 My skin also tends to lean more the oily side. With the mild tight feeling it was very easy to overlook this fact and I looked forward to using it twice daily.It has pink microbeads to gently exfoliate and they disappear in to the skin quite quickly. Using this product everyday for 2 weeks has not left me missing my usual exfoliate as much.

It has a perfume that is very fresh and clean and initially I found it a bit strong but that’s only because I don’t use products that have too much fragrance and yet I quickly became accustomed to it and grew to enjoy it very much. The smell is really pleasant and is unmistakeably Johnson’s and it makes facial cleansing a therapeutic experience. The fragrance reminds me of their baby cologne 😉 If you close your eyes, you would know immediately that it was a Johnson’s product you were using.

After 2 weeks of use, I still have just over half the contents left, despite heavy handedness 😉 My skin feels clean and refreshed and it is very gentle. I didn’t experience any breakouts and for that reason alone I’d use it again! To find a product that didn’t irritate or cause breakouts, that is a HUGE deal for me! I found that it does a thorough job of cleansing my face of any dirt, impurities and makeup and this is my second favourite product of the lot. A VERY close second that is. If you have combination to oily skin, I would suggest this product as part of your daily skin care routine. It is really affordable and can be found at Dis-Chem, Clicks, Makro, Game and Pick n Pay Stores nationwide.

Have you tried this product? What were your findings?

